RSS Feed

Vegan French Toast – A Brunch for Dinner Valentine

Posted on

20120214-222651.jpg

I love French Toast & I don’t know anyone who wouldn’t agree. So, I thought, why not make a meal we all love on a “lovey-dovey” day like today? (I also figured the boys would be thrilled &, hopefully, stuffing their faces which meant the hubby & I could enjoy a somewhat peaceful meal.)

Now, I’ve made vegan French Toast before & I’ve always used Ezekiel 4:9 Bread (which you’re more than welcome to use in this recipe) but I wanted something extra special tonight. Something that breaks a few “rules”. Something like…Texas Toast! *gasp* Ooooh calm down, it’s only 1 night!

Like I said, we usually eat the sprouted grain breads, but when I managed to find 100% Whole Wheat Texas Toast, I thought, “It’s still kinda healthy & perfect for the occassion!” Was it ever!

Ingredients:

  • Bread of your choice
  • 1 1/2 cups Almond Milk
  • 1 tbs Ground Flax Seed
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 Ripe Banana
  • 4 tbs Pure Maple Syrup
  • 1 tsp Pure Coconut Oil

Steps:

    1. Put all ingredients (except for the bread) in a blender & blend until smooth.
    2. Pour the mixture from the blender to a bowl.
    3. Dip your bread in the mixture to coat. (Make sure you let excess mixture drip back into the bowl.)
    4. Place bread slices on a medium-heat, non-stick, pan or skillet & cook until golden brown on both sides.

20120214-221831.jpg

*Served with Tempeh Maple Bacon, fresh fruit, & orange juice.

20120214-221314.jpg

It worked out perfectly…stomachs were full & hearts were happy. I hope you try it & enjoy it as much as we did!

Happy Eating!

– Lesley

3 responses »

  1. Must try looks and sounds yummy.

    Reply
  2. Hmmm…. We may make it tonight! That sounds awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

