RSS Feed

Mini Eggplant Pizzas!

Posted on

20120227-212948.jpg

We love pizza! The boys ask for it just about everyday, but I compromise & serve it once a week. The problem? It’s just so darn messy to make the dough! I needed an easier solution for days when I don’t feel like dusting the whole house due to an indoor flour storm. (Seriously, I’m a bit of a mess in the kitchen. It happens when I get “in the zone”.) So, I found a big ol’ eggplant in my refrigerator just waiting to be sliced. I had seen recipes for eggplant parmesan but had never tried it. It was all an experiment & I was afraid of how they would turn out since I didn’t use eggs or cow’s milk for the breading.

However, they were so good! I mean, really, they came out delicious! My “tasters” liked them so much I could barely snap any pictures before they were all gone! They’re crunchy & a perfect size for little hands.

Ingredients:

  • 1 large Eggplant
  • 3/4 cup Flour (any type will do)
  • 4 tbsp Ground Flax Seed
  • 1 cup Almond Milk
  • 2 cups Bread Crumbs
  • Garlic Powder to taste (appx 1 tbsp)
  • Salt & Pepper to taste
  • 1 cup Pizza Sauce of choice
  • 1 cup Dairy-Free Mozzarella Style Shredded Cheese (Daiya Foods)

Steps:

  • Combine ground flax & almond milk in a bowl & set aside.
  • Place flour in a bowl & season with salt & pepper.
  • Place bread crumbs in a bowl & season with garlic powder.
  • Preheat oven to 400F
  • Peel eggplant & slice into 1/2″ thick circles.
  • Coat 1 eggplant circle at a time in flour covering both sides & then dip in the almond & flax bowl. (Allow excess to drip back into bowl.)
  • Coat in bread crumbs & place on a non-stick baking pan.
  • Bake at 400F for 15 minutes or until circles are golden brown.
  • Remove from oven & top with pizza sauce & shredded cheese & bake until cheese is melted.

The hubby & I used them as a side to our three bean & veggie soup instead of bread…

20120227-213610.jpg

You can also top them with bruchetta, hummus, pesto or even guacamole! The possibilities are endless. If you happen to make this recipe, let me know how you enjoyed it! I’m sure you could also try this recipe with zucchini instead of eggplant. I just so happen to have one in my fridge. Hmmmm…

Happy Eating!

– Lesley

3 responses »

  1. question: what does it taste like and where can you get dairy free mozzarella? love you -jackie

    Reply
    • Sorry! Should have maybe included that info! It happens when I only get a chance to write posts in the wee hours of the night! 😉
      Well, the non-dairy mozzarella can be found in grocery stores in the natural & organic food aisle. I was pleasantly surprised with the flavor. Doesn’t melt as quickly as dairy cheese, though. We use the Daiya brand.
      Love you too. 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

